Recognition

In the crowd, she glimpsed someone, she recognised.

red anemones, purple fritilla,willow tree 131

It is so lovely to have my blogs publicly recognised, and today I give my thanks to two favourite bloggers for doing just that.

To Janice of Ontheland who writes informatively about environmental issues that concern her, as well as beautifully crafted poems.
And
Aquileana of Le Audacia de Aquiles who writes interesting articles on Greek mythology and literature, who is also a generous member of the blogosphere.

Books and Blogging.

I suspect my story is much like yours. Originally I decided to try blogging because I imagined that it would give me purpose, and a structured format to begin writing. I planned that it would become the book I always wanted to write.

That particular dream began when I was young, and was praised by my teacher for the short stories I wrote. One was entered into the county schools competition for art, writing and other school activities. It won a first prize, and I was presented with a book about the Kings and Queens of England.

I read for hours on end the books I found on the shelves at home. Books such as the Enid Blyton adventures, the classics such as Pride and Prejudice, and I loved Anne of Green Gables. Many books since, one particularly stands out because I was moved to weep out loud. The words written by Kuki Gallmann, in her book ‘Out of Africa’. Beautiful.

My preferred activity of walking has been hijacked by my camera, since I started blogging, and I will certainly carry it with me if, and when I travel with my husband to either or both of our dream destinations, Scotland and Corsica.

And if I were ever to move house, my most treasured possession, the Bible that I was given when I was nine years old, full of memories and good will, shall be, as always, packed in my bag.

As for blogging, I conclude that I have found it satisfying in many ways. I have discovered photography, and look more closely at my environment. I am stretching my mind and imagination, while learning to write. I have found likeminded people across the world, and begun friendships with those I would not ever have known. Finally, maybe I have enough material for that book.

20 thoughts on “Recognition

  1. Le blog fait bien souvent grandir, évoluer et finalement on ouvre des portes qu’on n’aurait jamais poussées avant. C’est une porte ouverte au monde entier, et l’occasion d’échanger et de partager est immense.
    Bonne journée

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for your kind words and I am happy/interested to learn about your writing journey and dream of a book–I will certainly want to read it when that day comes. Your flowers on this post intrigue me. They look like tulips but with a different glisten and ‘nod’ of their heads. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi, this is a wild flower called Fritillaria. Its common name is Snakeshead, or Petit cloche in france. They’re very delicate and becoming rare. Happily there’s one or two meadows where they grow undisturbed. Thanks for coming over.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like ‘petit cloche’ best for the name. I realized after that in reality it is probably nothing like a tulip (an illusion of closeup and season) they are beautiful and they must be especially exciting to discover due to their rarity.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. You are quite right… I also think that blogging is satisfying in many ways. I also like to connect with people worldwide and the exchanges are really valuable…
    I am very glad I came across you in the blogosphere…
    Thanks so much for the mention, as well. Sending love and best wishes. Aquileana ⭐️

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I started blogging for the opposite reason. I wrote a book and began blogging as a way to develop a platform. I have begun to take many pictures, just as you have, since then. I find life just has more meaning since I began blogging and I notice so much more. Congratulations on your recognition.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations, dear V! You have been special to my heart for awhile but don’t always have time to check out your posts. I feel connected to you, despite this flaw of mine. 🙂
    Blogging helps my mind and I enjoy having “friends” from all over who share their travels and unique worlds. I liked this post and the asparagas one, but Silly wordpress is thinking I am someone else and twice kicked me off your blog! Hugs and continued best wishes for health, love and happiness, dear. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Beautiful comment R. I’m happy to have you as a friend too. You are a very warm person. I’m sorry to hear you are having problems visiting, I hope all will be well now. Thankyou for your wishes, and I wish you health, love and happiness too. x:)

      Like

  6. My goodness, you had me on the first poem, truly remarkable. I can relate to that on some fashion. I’ve been to a couple of farms and it was an experience to say the least and a good one. Please when you have the chance, comment on a few of our stories at Gastradamus. Your opinion is the one we want to hear. We love the horse poems and farms at Gastradamus, and we would love your input.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Congratulations on your well deserved recognition. You really have created such an interesting and visually stunning website to visit, which tells me that we have an interesting and visually stunning book to look forward to. All my best. 📮

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

